Tyler Martin – Class of 2018

Tyler Martin – Class of 2018

Me playing The Baker in BHS Theatre’s 2017 musical, Into the Woods.

Greetings, one and all! My name is Tyler Martin, and I’m going to be a senior at BHS next year. I’m so excited to share my Brunswick experience with you! I’m a pretty actively involved student at the high school. I’m a member and the new student director of the BHS Choir Department, a member of National Honor Society, and also a thespian in the BHS Theatre Department. As I start to share my experiences with you, I’m sure you’ll begin to see that I am truly a student of the fine arts. I have a love for music and a profound passion for performing theatre and musical theatre. Outside of school, I study voice privately, perform at many Cleveland theatre companies, and expose myself to as much theatre as I possibly can! I’ve been a theatregoer since the age of ten when my mother took me to see national tour of The Phantom of the Opera at Playhouse Square in Cleveland. I was so taken back by the experience that I wanted to hop onto the stage and give it a try… So I did! And now, here I am, a performer of four years now with a resume of fifteen theatrical productions. Some of my favorite credits include; Shrek: The Musical (Lord Farquaad) at BHS Theatre, The Crucible (John Proctor) at BHS Theatre, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Leaf Coneybear) at The Cassidy Theatre, and Beauty and the Beast (Beast) at Fred Hargrove Young Artists. I am so grateful for all of the opportunities I’ve been given, especially here at BHS. Our music and theatre departments strive for excellence and have earned great credibility. They provide wonderful instruction and experiences that allow student artists like me to study, explore, and refine my craft. I am so thrilled to have the opportunity to provide you with some insight to my life as a performer and musician at Brunswick High School! Before I sign off, I would like to share that I am currently taking the stage at The Cassidy Theatre where I am playing the role of Hysterium in Stephen Sondheim’s A Funny Thing Happened on the way to the Forum! The show runs June 9-25, with performances on Friday and Saturday at 8pm, and on Sunday at 3pm. Visit www.cassidytheatre.com for ticket prices and box office information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar